F Girls in Aviation Day 2015
Women in Aviation HomeAviation for Women Magazine

Girls in Aviation Day 2015

September 26, 2015

Mark your calendars- something very unique and very special is coming to your town! On September 26, 2015, Women in Aviation International Chapters will bring all of the passion, exploration, learning, and excitement of aviation and aerospace right to you. Across the Women in Aviation International network, plans are in the works for a extraordinary day of fun and inspiration!

CONNECT with other girls and women who are excited about aviation!
EXPLORE the opportunities for working in the aviation and aerospace industry!
EXPERIENCE the high-flying fun aviation offers!

While activities at each event will vary, activities you might expect to find include:

  • MEET women with careers in aviation
  • EXPLORE the world of aviation
  • CONTROL a pretend air traffic control tower
  • LEARN about jobs at the airport
  • FIND OUT what an aircraft dispatcher does
  • TALK like a pilot when you say the alphabet
  • HEAR what it's like to be a professional pilot
  • CHECK OUT all different kinds of airplanes
  • USE tools that an aircraft mechanic uses
  • FLY a flight simulator and get a feel for the controls
  • TEST your own aeronautical designs like an engineer
  • NAVIGATE using an aviation sectional chart

Below, you'll find a list of WAI chapters who are planning on a fantastic Girls in Aviation Day. Please locate the event closest to you and contact that chapter directly about all the details of their unique day!

Participating Chapters

CAMEROON

Cameroon Chapter
Contact: Noutchemo Simo Fadimatou
+237 699 983 473
noutchemo@hotmail.com
www.wai-cameroon.org

CANADA

Alberta Rocky Mountain High Chapter
Calgary, Alberta
Contact: Brenda Blair
rmhexecutive@hotmail.com

Northern Spirit Chapter
Winnipeg, MB
Contact: Kristin Long
ywgspirit@gmail.com

Upper Canada Chapter
Toronto, Ontario
Contact: Cheryl Marek
cherylmarek@hotmail.com

CHINA

Hong Kong Chapter
Hong Kong, China
Contact: Molly Boss
mcboss@me.com

KENYA

Kenya Chapter
Nairobi, Kenya
Contact: Una Gertrude
una.gertrude@wai-kenyachapter.co.ke

NIGERIA

Glowing Wings Chapter
Lagos, Nigeria
Contact: Fola Akande
Folakandey707@yahoo.com

Nigeria Chapter
Ikeja Lagos, Nigeria
Contact: Rejoice Ndudinachi
repraise2002@yahoo.com

SWITZERLAND

Edelweiss Chapter
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contact: Sandrine Rohrer
sandrine.rohrer@gmail.com

USA

Valley of the Sun Chapter
Phoenix, AZ
Contact: Theresa Farley
waiphoenixaz@gmail.com

Embry Riddle Aeronautical University, Prescott Chapter
Prescott, AZ
Contacts: Claire Schindler - schindc2@my.erau.edu
Erica Diels - diels512@erau.edu

WoW OC Chapter
Fullerton, CA
Contact: Llen Oyco
llen@hotmail.com

Greater Los Angeles Chapter
Los Angeles, CA
Contact: Fallon Winslow
greaterlawai@gmail.com

San Diego Chapter
San Diego, CA
Contact: Jill Meyers
jillmeyers@live.com

Connecticut Chapter
East Hartford, CT
Contact: Patricia Harmon
patricia.harmon@pw.utc.com

Capital Region Chapter
Washington DC
Contact: Maria Killian
waidcpresident@gmail.com

Central Florida Chapter
Orlando, FL
Contact: Anita Lemmon
alemmon@goaa.org

Florida Memorial University Chapter
Miami Gardens, FL
Contacts: Aiysha Lindsay - ajasmine9@aol.com
Athina Holmes - athina.holmes@fmuinv.edu

Space Coast Florida Tech Chapter
Melbourne, FL
Contact: Macie Grant
fitflygirls@gmail.com

Gone with the Wind Chapter
Atlanta, GA
Contacts: Becca Friesen - becca.friesen@delta.com
Kathy McCampbell - kathy.mccampbell@delta.com

Rhythm of the Wings Chapter
Atlanta, GA
Contact: Denise Gunter
wai.rhythmofthewings@gmail.com

University of Dubuque Chapter
Dubuque, IA
Contacts: Jennifer Greenwood - jgreenwood@dbq.edu
Polly Kadolph - pkadolph@dbq.edu

SIUC Saluki Aviators
Carbondale, IL
Contact: Rachel Lee
Rllee@siu.edu

K-State Salina Chapter
Salina, KS
Contact: Lindsey Dreiling
lindseyrai@yahoo.com

Atlantic Aviators
New Bedford, MA
Contact: Tammie Irwin
atlanticaviators@yahoo.com

Yankee Ladies Chapter
Ypsilanti, MI
Contact: Rachel Lindvig
rachellindvig@gmail.com

Stars of the North Chapter
Together with the MSU Northern Lights Chapter MSU Northern Lights Chapter

Minneapolis MN
Contact: Jenny Nietfeld
jenny_mensing99@hotmail.com

St. Louis Women With Wings Chapter
St. Louis, MO
Contact: Allison Sutter
allisonmarie526@hotmail.com

First in Flight Chapter
Greensboro, NC
Contact: Valerie Barrett
valeriebarrett70@gmail.com

University of North Dakota Chapter
Grand Forks, ND
Contact: Elizabeth Bjerke, Ph.D.
ebjerke@aero.und.edu

University of Nebraska Maverick Chapter
Omaha, NE
Contact: Michaela Lucas
mlucas@unomaha.edu

US Coast Guard Air Station Atlantic City
Atlantic City, NJ
Contact: Lt. Caitlin Mitchell Wurster
caitlin.h.mitchellwurster@uscg.mil

New York Chapter
New York, NY
Contact: Alice Chan
alice.chan@changrant.com

Vaughn College Chapter
Flushing, NY
Contacts: Katherine Guerrero - katherine.guerrero@vaughn.edu
Camila Turrieta - c.f.turrieta@gmail.com

York College/CUNY Chapter
Queens, NY
Contacts: Tuhfatul Hipsha - tuhfatul.hipsha@yorkmail.cuny.edu
Dr. Mavis Green - mgreen1@york.cuny.edu
Diana Sutherland - dsutherland@york.cuny.edu

Ohio University Chapter
Athens, OH
Contacts: Colleen Thompson - ct309811@ohio.edu
Theresa Meyer - meyert@ohio.edu

The Wright Chapter
Cincinnati, OH
Contact: Judy Pavlik
jlp1224@yahoo.com

Rose City Chapter
Portland, OR
Contact: Ashley Salm
wairosecity@gmail.com

Memphis Belles Chapter
Memphis, TN
Contact: Beth Rush
president@memphisbelles.org

Middle Tennessee State University Air Raiders Chapter
Murfreesboro, TN
Contacts: Alex Bagwell - wairaiders@gmail.com
Andrea Georgiou - a.georgiou@mtsu.edu
Andrew Symonds - andrew.symonds@mtsu.edu

Lone Star Aviators Chapter and North Texas Chapter
Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX
Contacts: Shelley Hedrick - shelley@jetseatllc.com
Brittany Russell - wailonestarchptr@gmail.com

Houston Chapter
Houston Chapter, TX
Contacts: Erica Dugger
edugger@gmail.com

Alamo City Chapter
San Antonio, TX
Contact: Melinda Vasquez
lexavasquez@aol.com

Great Salt Lake - Westminster College Chapter
Salt Lake City, UT
Contacts: Brooke Rogers - brookerogers3267@yahoo.com
Gail Avendano - gavendano@westminstercollege.edu

Washington State Chapter
Seattle, WA
Contact: Rebecca Burghy
washingtonwai.10@gmail.com

Oshkosh Chapter
Oshkosh/Appleton, WI
Contact: Audra Hoy
audra_hoy@yahoo.com


 

 
Women in Aviation, International is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization.
Materials on this web site are copyright ©1996-2011 by Women in Aviation, International Privacy Statement